DevilDriver – Trust No One



Trust No One


Napalm Records




For Fans Of

Chimaira, Lamb of God, Coal Chamber


DevilDriver's latest release shows that band can still deliver insidious grooves entangled with epic melodies.


75 / 100

Trust No One. A bitter sentiment that holds strong on American groove metal stalwarts DevilDriver‘s latest studio album. The Dez Fafara led quintet (featuring an almost entirely new rhythm line-up) continues to prove they can still pump out “huge grooves and big hooks.”

So far, the group’s brand of groove metal has been somewhat praised for its intensity, proving long ago that DevilDriver are much more than just a Fafara side-project. The release does mark the longest break between albums, with ‘Winter Kills’ released in 2013. However, this was simply due to Fafara‘s return to Coal Chamber, for a reunion album.

Trust No One‘ sees DevilDriver delivering on their promise of huge grooves and big hooks. Equally, the album continues to show what they do best, eerie and ominous guitar riffs, bloodcurdling screams and thunderous drumming (courtesy of ex-Chimaira drummer, Austin D’Amond). Now, while ‘Trust No One‘ shows the band is still very much DevilDriver, they aren’t pushing any boundaries or breaking new ground either. After seven studio albums and one EP, the band continues to churn out a similar sound with each new album.

While this may be a problem for some, luckily for fans, this release could be noted as one of their better records in the current collection. There are many choice cuts, as the album flows well together and doesn’t feel dull throughout. Songs such as ‘My Night Sky‘, with an intensely eeire guitar line that dances with Dez’s shattering vocals, ‘Daybreak‘, a song that’s as close to an anthem as you’ll ever get in this genre that seems to remind us of early American Metalcore (maybe something from As I Lay Dying?), and let’s not forget that friggin’ solo/mid-section, are all noteworthy.

The instrumentation on ‘Trust No One‘ is very much up to scratch, guitar solos are not uncommon, and definitely do not over-stay their welcome, staying interesting and different throughout the album; while the drumming shows D’Amond‘s range, from slow, intense grooves to the occasional blast-beat (see the intro to the album’s title track) – this guy has the goods. Fafara‘s vocals are easy to appreciate, too, with his, by now, well-known signature raspy growl.


While ‘Trust No One’ isn’t shattering new ground, it definitely shows DevilDriver are still on top of their game and are committed to delivering their intense form of melodic groove metal. This release hints at a heavier focus on melody, however, that doesn’t discount the fact that this album is full of vicious moments that will make die-hard fans of the band suuuuper giddy.


1. Testimony of Truth
2. Bad Deeds
3. My Night Sky
4. This Deception
5. Above It All
6. Daybreak
7. Trust No One
8. Feeling Un-god-ly
9. Retribution
10. For What It’s Worth
11. House Divided (bonus track)
12. Evil On Swift Wings (bonus track)

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.