Bring Me The Horizon – Live At Wembley (DVD)


Live At Wembley (DVD)






For Fans Of

Bring Me The Horizon, from 'Count Your Blessings' to now.


You wish you were there.


87 / 100

It’s fair to say that Bring Me The Horizon are a band that has matured so significantly that they’re virtually unrecognisable in comparison to who they were when they first kicked off the ground. Their recent DVD, ‘Live At Wembley’, zeroes in on their journey to transforming into musicians worthy of the reputation that they’ve restored at this point in their career. It spans across their vast range of output to exhibit their development, and we’ll be damned if the victorious contrast isn’t crystal clear for anyone to see.

As far as live offerings go, ‘Live At Wembley’ is a box-ticker. The effects that feature in the visuals of the live show, but also in the way it’s edited, are purposeful and enhancing, but whether they’re there or not is irrelevant to why this release is such a solid watch. The musical performance of the outfit towers over the lights and sliced-and-diced footage; it carries a level of skill that you wouldn’t have expected from Bring Me the Horizon five years ago, retaining deviations from their studio recordings to preserve its authenticity.

Though Oli Sykes’ vocals have seen an unanticipated level of growth, strangled strains on tracks like ‘Hospital For Souls’ and ‘Drown’ bring the DVD back to ground level and cross off criticisms that the whole performance has been substituted with an inserted back track. Despite falters, which sound less like mistakes and more like sincerities, Sykes‘ delivery, raw on ‘Shadow Moses’ and apoplectic on ‘House of Wolves’, rebuts claims that people you don’t really know bring up at parties: ‘Oli sucks live’ and ‘the only reason that they’re singing now is because Oli can’t scream’.

The electric interaction between crowd and artist is particularly showcased on ‘Live At Wembley’ – the audience is captivated by the band, hitting the roof as soon as Sykes commands them to jump. Particularly endearing is when, after aggressively playing their hearts out on ‘House of Wolves’,Diamonds Aren’t Forever’ and ‘Alligator Blood’, Sykes steps up to his role as frontman and timidly projects a ‘thank you’. From crowd chants to crowd surfing to circle pits and walls of death, we wouldn’t blame you for being just as envious as us when sitting through this one; there’s no place we’d rather be than in that sweaty pit during ‘Antivist’ with our middle fingers raised high,.


To date, Wembley is the biggest show that Bring Me The Horizon have ever played, and it’s also one of their best yet; they’ve gone from a controversial outfit to a class act. This live release is a fusion of sonic sincerity and an investment of everything that these Sheffield kids have. It’s enough to make fans proud, and as the band play like the only thing that they have to prove is that they have nothing to prove, it’s unquestionably evident that they’ve got something truly worth being proud of achieving.


1. Intro

2. Shadow Moses

3. Go To Hell, For Heaven’s Sake

4. The House Of Wolves

5. Diamonds Aren’t Forever

6. Anthem Outro

7. It Never Ends

8. And The Snakes Start To Sing

9. Alligator Blood

10. Empire (Let Them Sing)

11. Chelsea Smile

12. Pray For Plagues (feat Curtis Ward)

13. Blessed With A Curse

14. Antivist

15. Sleepwalking

16. Hospital For Souls

17. Drown

18. Can You Feel My Heart

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.