At The Gates – At War With Reality



At War With Reality


Century Media



For Fans Of

Dismember - Carcass


A ferocious and addictive comeback.


90 / 100

It has been 19 years since we have heard anything new from At The Gates so needless to say anticipation is high with new album, ‘At War With Reality.’ Let’s face facts, it feels like there have been so many comebacks lately. However, all these years devoid of studio time has given the band time to hone in and reflect on their skills. Put simply, ‘At War With Reality‘ does not disappoint.

Starting with a short slab of spoken word, like some kind of unholy ritual that sucks you in and conjures the forces of metal, the album hits you straight away with ‘Death and the Labyrinth’ proving that At The Gates have lost none of their fire.

The record is energetic as anything before and provides some infectious rhythms with tracks like ‘The Circular Ruins.’ The writing goes to show that At The Gates have not lost their touch at all with well-balanced riffs and harmonies.

At War With Reality‘ encompasses a lot of the trademark sounds that made predecessor ‘Slaughter of the Soul’ what it was and still is today. The matured deep vocals and dedication to production details all come together to make ‘At War With Reality’ a fantastic return.


‘At War With Reality’ has brought At The Gates back with a bang. 19 years apart has, in fact, done these guys some good as they have returned to produce some solid melodic death metal with memorable riffs, gripping vocals and a catchy rhythm all delivered with a wave of ferocity.


1. El Altar Del Dios Desconocido
2. Death And The Labyrinth
3. At War With Reality
4. The Circular Ruins 
5. Heroes And Tombs
6. The Conspiracy Of The Blind
7. Order From Chaos
8. The Book Of Sand (The Abomination)
9. The Head Of The Hydra
10. City Of Mirrors
11. Eater Of Gods
12. Upon Pillars Of Dust
13. The Night Eternal


Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.