Triptykon – Melana Chasmata



Melana Chasmata


Century Media



For Fans Of

Celtic Frost - Hellhammer


A trip to the darkest corners of your mind.


90 / 100

When Triptykon hit the metal scene with their debut album, ‘Eparistera Daimones,’ people were left divided. The album was solid and powerful, but as expected with a first-up offering, there were a few minor issues. Thus, people either loved it or hated it. Now the band is back to win us over with, ‘Melana Chasmata’ and if one thing is for sure, this group knows how to create a dark and creepy atmosphere. Just look at the strange mechanical, alien-esque cover art going on.

Beginning with the interestingly titled, ‘Tree of Suffocating Souls’ it’s not too long before you are thrown into pummelling instrumental work. This track is one that stands out as a little different, with some thrash influence in there. A powerful start. What could be described as really just the "talking" element of the vocals sounds absolutely bad ass and creates an ideal break from the intense growls.

The first couple of tracks here really set up things well. While nine songs each is rather lengthy and within we can see just how much Triptykon have progressed since their last work.

Melana Chasmata’ is full of aggression and hate, it’s heavy at times and not so much at others but with a few little guitar tricks thrown in, the record will have you head banging before you know it. The mixture of clean and harsh, male and female vocals along with complimentary, thick guitars, the atmosphere created is beautifully dark and addictive.

By the time we reach ‘Demon Pact’ the album has you completely drawn in, with this creepy industrial track acting as a nice surprise. It stands out from the rest. A little slower and a change of pace. The vocal style in this again just sets the eerie and dark atmosphere up so well. This is one of those albums that you just don’t want to end.


‘Melana Chasmata’ is the kind of album that will get you hook, line and sinker. Triptykon have definitely improved enormously since their last release and this record showcases that perfectly. It’s dark, eerie and creepy as hell. With just the right amount of heavy notes and slow, dark ones the band has created a killer atmosphere.


1. Tree Of Suffocating Souls
2. Boleskine House
3. Altar Of Deceit
4. Breathing
5. Aurorae
6. Demon Pact
7. In The Sleep Of Death
8. Black Snow
9. Waiting

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.