Orchid – The Zodiac Sessions



The Zodiac Sessions


Nuclear Blast



For Fans Of

Black Sabbath - Pentagram


Nicely re-mastered with the best of early Orchid in one place


95 / 100

San Francisco doom metallers, Orchid, have made a name for themselves with their compelling, strong, dark sounds. Their ‘The Mouths of Madness’ album release earlier this year hit the mark, propelling the band’s reputation. Now the boys have gotten together to produce ‘The Zodiac Sessions’, which is a compilation of their earlier works, ‘Through the Devil’s Doorway’ and ‘Capricorn,’ re-mastered and hard hitting as ever.

Within the first seconds of opener, ‘The Eyes Behind The Wall,’ you are instantly met with a blast from the past. This track pulls you back into the early high point of the dark rock/doom movement and creates a genuine atmosphere. With classic guitar riffs met with intense drumming it provides a high standard.

‘Capricorn’ is a memorable while ‘Black Funeral’ really brings out the doom influence in Orchid’s sound. The latter is completely entrancing creating an eerie atmosphere with its slower, inviting tones before it picks up with some heavier, groove guitar work.

The Zodiac Sessions‘ contains a mashup of different influences and sounds, such as with ‘Cosmonaut Of Three’ we are met with some thick sludge sounds while ‘Eastern Women’ presents a real rhythmic and raw guitar sound.

Closer, ‘No One Makes A Sound,’ has some more upbeat guitar work while its vocals express a more serious matter with the lyrics, "They ain’t going to listen now, until no one makes a sound." It’s a good cross-section, with suitable variety. A worthy look-in for fans.


‘The Zodiac Sessions’ is a strong re-mastered compilation of pre-existing work from Orchid. It takes you back down the road, allowing the listener to re-visit something that is genuine.


1. Eyes Behind the Wall
2. Capricorn
3. Black Funeral
4. Masters of it All
5. Down into the Earth
6. He Who Walks Alone
7. Cosmonaut of Three
8. Electric Father
9. Albatross
10. Into the Sun
11. Eastern Woman
12. Son of Misery
13. No One Makes a Sound

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.