The Transplants – In a Warzone


In a Warzone





For Fans Of

Zebrahead - Rancid - Anti-Flag


New album from prominent punk identities.


68 / 100

Australian five piece, For Our Hero, open their Young Wolves EP with an interesting combination of harmonies and symphonic pop rock in ‘The Brave Ones’, which then transitions into a more standard pop punk sound with predictable hooks and the likes (think Artist vs. Poet). The vocals feel as if they are directly channeling Cute is What We Aim For. ‘The Brave Ones’ has a short return to the symphonic intro, but then retreats back. Apart from these two fleeting sections there is not much more happening to sustain interest, and this remains true for the remaining duration of the EP.

Title track, ‘Young Wolves’, is more poppy, still featuring predictable hooks and structure, and maintains a sound, which again resembles the aforementioned, Cute is What We Aim For‘Take the Night’, does this also, but is slightly more dance-like, with a standard dance beat on the hats and some synths. Ultimately though, the song brings nothing new to the genre. Halfway into the EP there is still much of the same just being repeated with For Our Hero adhering very strictly to the methods of many pop punk bands.

‘My Revolution’ is yet another churned-out and predictable pop punk song, and something a bit different comes with the following track, ‘Angel Bones’ – a short acoustic song. It has a few nice harmonies, but the only thing that really differs from most pop punk is the short duration, and overall the track is again something, which has been done time and time again, especially with it being jammed full of perfect rhyme.

‘Weekends’ is a return to the same full-band songs heard throughout the EP, and it seals Young Wolves as another typical pop punk release. The end of ‘Weekends’ has some interesting elements when the band comes together with a harmonised chant to see the song out, but this is the only highlight other than the intro.


By largely ridding themselves of the hip-hop ghosts of albums past, The Transplants have managed a fairly coherent (while still pretty diverse) collection of ferocious punk jams. Longtime fans may be disappointed at the lack of experimentation to be found on the record, and it’s hardly a groundbreaking work. ‘In a Warzone’ is simply a quite aggressive, oft-catchy and ultimately straightforward record that, taken on face value, is pretty damn enjoyable.


1. In a Warzone
2. See It to Believe It
3. Back to You
4. Come Around
5. Something’s Different
6. Any of Them
7. Silence
8. All Over Again
9. It’s a Problem
10. Completely Detatch
11. Gravestones and Burial Plots
12. Exit the Wasteland

One Response to “The Transplants – In a Warzone”

  1. zacothewacko

    What’s the review for “For our hero” doing here??
    The conclusion is the right one, but the rest definitely isn’t.

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.