For Our Hero – Young Wolves



Young Wolves


Independent / Green Media




For Fans Of

Cute is What We Aim For - Artist VS. Poet


The band brings nothing new to the genre, with predictable song structures and progressions, and this makes them just like any other pop punk band.


50 / 100

Australian five piece, For Our Hero, open their Young Wolves EP with an interesting combination of harmonies and symphonic pop rock in ‘The Brave Ones’, which then transitions into a more standard pop punk sound with predictable hooks and the likes (think Artist vs. Poet). The vocals feel as if they are directly channeling Cute is What We Aim For. ‘The Brave Ones’ has a short return to the symphonic intro, but then retreats back. Apart from these two fleeting sections there is not much more happening to sustain interest, and this remains true for the remaining duration of the EP.

Title track, ‘Young Wolves’, is more poppy, still featuring predictable hooks and structure, and maintains a sound, which again resembles the aforementioned, Cute is What We Aim For‘Take the Night’, does this also, but is slightly more dance-like, with a standard dance beat on the hats and some synths. Ultimately though, the song brings nothing new to the genre. Halfway into the EP there is still much of the same just being repeated with For Our Hero adhering very strictly to the methods of many pop punk bands.

‘My Revolution’ is yet another churned-out and predictable pop punk song, and something a bit different comes with the following track, ‘Angel Bones’ – a short acoustic song. It has a few nice harmonies, but the only thing that really differs from most pop punk is the short duration, and overall the track is again something, which has been done time and time again, especially with it being jammed full of perfect rhyme.

‘Weekends’ is a return to the same full-band songs heard throughout the EP, and it seals Young Wolves as another typical pop punk release. The end of ‘Weekends’ has some interesting elements when the band comes together with a harmonised chant to see the song out, but this is the only other highlight other than the intro.


It’s not a bad release, but the songs blend into each other even when there are only six tracks. If you enjoy pop punk genre and bands like Cute is What We Aim For, and prefer that these bands adhere strictly to the existing standard formula when writing songs, then this is an EP you. But, if you’re looking for something fresh and intriguing, ‘Young Wolves’ is the opposite.


1. The Brave Ones
2. Young Wolves
3. Take the Night
4. My Revolution
5. Angel Bones
6. Weekends

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.