Megadeth – Super Collider



Super Collider






For Fans Of

Pantera - Judas Priest - Anthrax


A hard rock album, lacking any real known Megadeth thrash metal songs.


50 / 100

Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine has always been a controversial topic of conversation with his political and religious beliefs often up for debate as outrageous and preachy. This has managed to bring much attention to Megadeth and helped them create some great albums in the past positioning them as one of thrash metal’s "big four." 

Megadeth‘sSuper Collider’, the fourteenth album, has brought on a lot of mixed opinions from their fans. Arguably, this album is a bit of a throw back to albums such as ‘Risk’, which were not as well received as others. ‘Super Collider’ is not the thrash metal sound that managed to get Megadeth into the big four, but rather is riddled with hard rock sounds, disappointing metal heads all around.

Even with these hard rock sounds there is a need to mention the title song, ‘Super Collider’ itself, maybe a little cliché and less metal, but a song that will be stuck in the head for the entirety of the day with its catchy chorus.

Songs such as ‘Burn’ may hit the mark as it drips dull, cheesy hard rock. The chorus houses a tedious, predictable tune, making you cringe with its lyrics. It does however include a guitar solo, which somewhat manages to lift the song up.

As the full-length progresses the songs manage to become a little better than the others. ‘Off the Edge’ and ‘Don’t Turn Your Back…‘ are some all right tracks, which prove to be a little heavier than others in parts, less dullness and more metal. ‘The Blackest Crow’ seems rather out of place with its banjo rock, not entirely Megadeth, but the banjo rock does fit with the song itself.

Dance in the Rain’ is perhaps the best song on the album. The lyrics are talked rather than sung in parts, creating a somewhat poetic scene, showing a glimpse of some old Megadeth sounds that everyone loves.

Throughout the whole record the prominent hard rock feel brings it down. However, a mention must be made about the always skilful guitar work of Megadeth, which is not lost in this album, with some great riffs and solos. ‘Super Collider‘ is not Megadeth’s best work at all. If you are expecting a thrash metal album you will be disappointed. There are a handful songs that might make a spot in your play list if you give it a chance though.


Not Megadeth’s best work and if you were expecting a real thrash metal album you wont find it here. The album is largely a mess of hard rock. However, there are some catchy songs with good guitar work, which aren’t too bad.


1. Kingmaker
2. Super Collider
3. Burn!
4. Built For War
5. Off The Edge
6. Dance In The Rain
7. The Beginning Of Sorrow
8. The Blackest Crow
9. Forget To Remember
10. Don’t Turn Your Back…
11. Cold Sweat

One Response to “Megadeth – Super Collider”

  1. nicolemary

    Wow, this was a really handy review for someone like me who’s not a huge Megadeth fan. It was thorough, but got to the point. Thanks, Holywood, and I look forward to future reviews!

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.