Paramore – Paramore





Fueled By Ramen




For Fans Of

Hey Monday - We Are In The Crowd


An emotional mixture of differing pop rock sounds.


80 / 100

In 2010 Paramore faced a scandal. Two founding members, Josh and Zac Farro, left the band, with the brotherly duo stating they were merely, “Riding on the coattails of (singer) Hayley‘s dreams.” Four years since the band’s previous studio album and the question prevails going into this – is the altered (and forced) personnel change going to have any impact on the sound?

Initial statements can often be misleading, but it appears Williams and co. appear stronger than ever with a much deserved self titled album.

Some of us have to grow up sometimes. If I have to I’m going to leave you behind,” sings Williams on ‘Grow Up’, which is presumably aimed at the Farro siblings. On a closer inspection, the lyrics show a Williams who is torn, bitter and also trying to move on from the wounds left by the band mates who helped her form and make her dreams a reality. While the full-length is diverse, you can’t ignore the elephant in the room. This album depicts Williams‘ emotional journey and the progression of trying to keep Paramore together as a large portion of the album features bitter songs such as the aforementioned, ‘Grow Up’ and ‘Anklebiters’. Towards the end we see a transformation and progression with ‘I’m Not Angry Anymore (Interlude).’

The entire album encompasses a group of songs, which seem to lack cohesiveness with one another due to the fluctuating sounds and styles yet this emphasises the emotional rollercoaster, which is evident in the lyrics of each song. Possibly the most interesting part here is the use of three interludes. The beginning of the album seems to reflect more on the past. First interlude, ‘Moving On (interlude),’ evident in the title, marks a point in the album where Williams tries to move on and with this comes songs, which are a bit more playful and upbeat, leaning towards a more pop vibe. ‘Holiday (interlude),’ similarly seems to reflect on a romantic relationship, and the hardship faced throughout that. The last interlude, ‘I’m Not Angry Anymore (interlude)’ focuses on an element of forgiveness and closing a chapter of life, which is cleverly ended with concluding song, ‘Future‘.

This album features elements of the classic pop rock anthems Paramore are known for but diluted with a pop sound, as well as acoustic songs, with the use of a ukulele and then a mix of rock meets electronic feel. The self-titled album includes many elements, which compliment the sections of the album such as the use of a gospel choir in ‘Ain‘t it Fun,‘ creating a catchy and upbeat mood. ‘Now’ and ‘Still Into You’ show a glimpse of the catchy rock anthem feel Paramore are known to produce, which you can’t help but get stuck in your head. In many respects, the album marks a milestone for Paramore as they break further into the mainstream music industry.


This self-titled album shows a wide exploration into different sounds for the band from rock to acousitc and electronic elements. While the album reaches different ends of the music spectrum, one things for sure, Paramore sure know how to make a catchy song filled with emotion. Althought if you were on the look out for the next ‘Misery Buisness’ to jump around and sing to you might be out of luck on this one.


1. Fast In My Car
2. Now
3. Grow Up
4. Daydreaming
5. Interlude: Moving On
6. Ain’t It Fun
7. Part II
8. Last Hope
9. Still Into You
10. Anklebiters
11. Interlude: Holiday
12. Proof
13. Hate To See Your Heart Break
14. (One Of Those) Crazy Girls
15. Interlude: I’m Not Angry Anymore
16. Be Alone
17. Future

3 Responses to “Paramore – Paramore”

  1. chris_m_55

    My expectations were low. I hated their last effort – it was soulless, predictable and a total bore. This sounds inspired and they are trying things which – more often than not – are at least interesting. There are some really good songs here, and it feels like Hayley has limited her “look-at-me” moments to the three uke-backed interludes which are actually a good way to break up a very long album. Futures is the bands chance to show that they’re more than a backing band. As a fan from before they released their debut, I still don’t like it as much as the first, but it comes close.

  2. SteveC SteveC

    There’s some great moments on this album. Ain’t it Fun and Part II are amazing for completely different reasons. They picked up a great drummer with Rubin. However there are some pretty embarrassing moments here (Still Into You anyone?). It’s an interesting listen but it can’t touch their second and third albums. It really shows how central Farro’s songwriting was to the band; it’s not quite the same anymore.

  3. thommo

    This album rocks. Still into you is pop brilliance. Yeah its a bit Taylor Swift-y, but Hayley kills the vocals like in all the songs. Her lower harmonies on this album are like velvet. They’ve branched out their style on this album with songs like Fast in my car, Ain’t it fun, Hate to see your heart break, (One of those) Crazy girls being unlike songs on previous albums. I know there’s the saying Hater gonna hate but haters suck a bag of dicks sometimes too.

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.