Code Orange Kids – Love Is Love // Return to Dust


Love Is Love // Return to Dust


Deathwish Inc.




For Fans Of

Converge - Trash Talk - Trap Them


New kids on the block.


78 / 100

Something tells us Code Orange Kids were never ones to bury their collective heads in the musical rulebook. The band seemingly treats any frameworks as a loose ideal, which is directly succeeded when purpose and passion comes into the equation. Not a bad thing at all really.

While 2008 marked the creation for the abrasive Pittsburgh hardcore crew, 2012 is where it has all coalesced. Debut studio album ‘Love Is Love // Return to Dust’, and first via Deathwish, quickly becomes a release to file in the ‘impressive up and comers’ category. Raw, spirited and decisive.

It’s not intended as a selfish slur or even a negative remark, but Code Orange Kids play and craft music in a manner that serves their own desires. The message gathered upon an initial listen is that the music is not designed to pander to outside interests. The sound is embraceable but doesn’t rely on much to gain appeal.

Opener ‘Flowermouth (the Leech)’ is what it is all about. Dripping in distorted menace and hardcore tones, the trio of vocals ensure a varied sound. It’s flowing but mixes things up. From the beginning you can feel the influences, but realise this is a unique style that stands on its own.

Around My Neck // On My Head’ is fast and indicative of Kurt Ballou’s obvious production charms. A convenient statement would suggest this album lays somewhere between Converge and Trash Talk. But, that might be a bit general.

The structure of songs are often based around pace and commonly a crescendo feel that slowly builds. ‘Liars // Trudge’ rises then goes deep before going into dark ambient territory. Elements of punk and also doom get a working face, with ‘Roots are Certain // Sky Is Empty’ short and guttural.

When you’ve got the glowing endorsements from the likes of Jacob Bannon, you must be doing something right. Forget specifics, ‘Love Is Love // Return to Dust’ is quite fundamental. It plays by its own rules and does its own thing. And that’s hardcore in a nutshell, right?


‘Love Is Love // Return to Dust’ is a rough composition yet goes down very smoothly. This is exactly the type of material you want to see infiltrating the already established. Code Orange Kids have spark and for the time being that is going deliver positive results.


1. Flowermouth (The Leech)
2. Around My Neck // On My Head
3. Sleep (I’ve Been Slipping)
4. Liars // Trudge
5. Colors (Into Nothing)
6. Nothing (The Rat)
7. Roots Are Certain // Sky Is Empty
8. Choices (Love Is Love)
9. Calm // Breathe
10. Bloom (Return To Dust)

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.