Flying Lotus – Until the Quiet Comes



Until the Quiet Comes





For Fans Of

Nosaj Thing - Boards of Canada - Thom Yorke


Ahead of his time once again.


89 / 100

Genre-bending Los Angeles beat maker Flying Lotus has consistently pushed boundaries with every release since his 2006 debut ‘1983‘. His luscious soundscapes and organic beats reflect a futuristic urban landscape that is the product of his singular imagination and unique production ability.

Album number four, ‘Until the Quiet Comes‘, sees him exploring the electronic jazz aesthetic introduced on 2010’s ‘Cosmogramma‘, but in a far more understated, minimalistic fashion. It also features more involvement from frequent collaborator Thundercat, providing a distinctive bass guitar signature that really sets the sound apart from other beat makers.

The live percussion and vintage keyboard tones of ‘All In‘ flow effortlessly into ‘Getting There‘, a glacial, post-Björk movement. Niki Randa‘s chilling vocals float over an effervescent vinyl crackle and chime-infested beat. ‘Heave(n)‘ plays out like a post-apocalyptic urban stroll, with whispers of warped human voices punching through pulsating layers of organic synths.

Not only does past collaborator Thom Yorke feature on the enticing yet slightly demonic ‘Electric Candyman‘, there is a hint of his solo album ‘The Eraser‘ in the glitchy percussion of ‘Tiny Tortures‘.

As if to remind us that we’re still listening to electronic music, ‘Sultan’s Request‘ opens with a buzzing, computerised bassline. The album has been so soulful up to this point; he even manages to inject life into the robotic ‘Putty Boy Strut‘.

With ‘Until the Quiet Comes‘, Flying Lotus has captured a strange feeling, as if Boards of Canada have stumbled into the Mos Eisley Cantina, jammed with the locals, then taken the result onto the streets of a futuristic Los Angeles to be used as the soundtrack to an urban dance-off.


Through collaboration and frequent use of live instrumentation, combined with his revered laptop production skills, Flying Lotus has produced what is quite possibly his most organic sounding album yet. Though ‘Until the Quiet Comes’ plays through with a seemingly effortless flow, it is in fact intricately constructed and ornate. It defines the sound of Los Angeles beat music, at least as it appears in one man’s head.


1. All In
2. Getting There (feat. Niki Randa)
3. Until the Colours Come
4. Heave(n)
5. Tiny Tortures
6. All the Secrets
7. Sultan’s Request
8. Putty Boy Strut
9. See Thru to U (feat. Erykah Badu)
10. Until the Quiet Comes
11. DMT Song (feat. Thundercat)
12. The Nightcaller
13. Only If You Wanna
14. Electric Candyman (feat. Thom Yorke)
15. Hunger (feat. Niki Randa)
16. Phantasm (feat. Laura Darlington)
17. Me Yesterday//Corded
18. Dream to Me

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.