New Found Glory – Radiosurgery







For Fans Of

Green Day - Descendents


An enjoyable salute to New Found Glory's influences.


81 / 100

The fact that the deluxe edition of “Radiosurgery” features a cover of one of the The Ramones’ most iconic songs “Blitzkrieg Bop” sums up the entire album in a nutshell. Rather than push their sound further, New Found Glory have consciously looked to their pop punk roots for record number seven. First they started by listening to nothing but a few formative bands like Descendents and Rancid. Then they employed the services of Neal Avron (Yellowcard, Fall Out Boy) who helmed the records they produced between 2000 and 2004 (their most popular albums) – “New Found Glory”, “Sticks and Stones” and “Catalyst”. Consequently, “Radiosurgery” has more in common with their debut “Nothing Gold Can Stay” or Green Day’s “Dookie” than its immediate predecessor. Gone are the chunky, mosh-pit friendly riffs of “Not Without A Fight” as New Found Glory opt for simpler, more nostalgic pop punk stylings.

There’s nothing particularly trendy about New Found Glory, which is sorta the way I like it. It’s really the polished, clean-cut sound that’s expected from these guys, from their eternally lame hit “Kiss Me” to totally un-pretentious classics like “This Disaster” or “My Friends Over You”. Front man Jordan Pundik’s somewhat cheesy, nasal vocals bear almost no resemblance to Joey Ramone’s drawl or Billie Joe Armstrong’s distinct, Californian punk tone. For this reason an attempt to replicate a more stripped-down punk rock sound comes across as a little jarring. But whatever – aside from a perhaps over-emphasised referential streak, there’s plenty to chew on with this 11 track offering.

New Found Glory’s tribute to their influences begins with the opening riff of the title track, which may as well be plucked from a late 90s Green Day song. The “woah-ohs” in the bass heavy “Dumped” are worthy of Rancid, while the solo in “Caught In The Act” is straight So-Cal pop punk 101. Don’t fret though, “Radiosurgery” definitely has its share of big, familiarly angsty NFG choruses, from the cry “did you want me back?” in “Anthem For The Unwanted” to the infectious hook of “Trainwreck”. The fifth song “Ready, Aim, Fire” has all the makings of a pop punk classic while the pop-heavy “Map Of Your Body” closes out the album on an upbeat and ever-nostalgic note.


On “Radiosurgery”, New Found Glory openly set out to do a throwback album and have essentially delivered just that. While stylistically and structurally this record harks way back into the band’s own past and influences, Jordan’s vocals provide just enough continuity with recent releases. Put simply, “Radiosurgery” is well-executed, old-style pop punk that again shows whatever they do, these dudes can write a damn good tune.


1. Radiosurgery
2.Anthem for the Unwanted
3. Drill It In My Brain
4. I’m Not the One
5. Ready, Aim, Fire!
6. Dumped
7. Summer Fling, Don’t Mean a Thing
8. Caught in the Act
9. Memories and Battle Scars
10. Trainwreck
11. Map of Your Body

One Response to “New Found Glory – Radiosurgery”

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.