Silverstein – Rescue





Hopeless Records



For Fans Of

Senses Fail - Chasing Victory - Bayside


A trademark and typical release.


73 / 100

Screamo is a bit of a dirty word, isn’t it? It’s not made much better when euphemistically referenced as ‘post-hardcore’ at other equal times. Unfortunately, it seems the genre label creates preconceptions. Often negative ones. However, this doesn’t always have to be the case. It might be a current notion but it is not a binding hindrance designed to exclusively deter.

Silverstein are certainly one of the better bands that cultivate this ‘screamo’ tag today. It’s honest music that appeals to that popular teenage angst but also offers enough to keep older fans pleased. Fifth studio album, ‘Rescue‘ (the first full-length released under the Hopeless Records umbrella) plays fairly close to the band’s traditional style. Affectionately labelled by frontman Shane Told as a mix between ‘Discovering the Waterfront‘ and ‘A Shipwreck in the Sand‘ the description is not far off. The heavy, metallic guitar sounds of ‘Rescue‘s’ predecessor are certainly there and that penchant for clean-sung hooks is additionally retained.

Rescue‘ is not so much a surprising listen as it is about highlighting the group’s consistency. Fans in some part will be familiar with album five, with ‘Sacrifice‘ and ‘Darling Harbour‘ featuring on last year’s EP, ‘Transitions‘. On their last album the point was made here that Silverstein are the in-betweeners. Not too heavy but not too lightweight either.

Maybe it’s that Canadian sentiment that keeps the band motivated. The country certainly has almost been the brunt of every American joke, that to the point it forces Canucks to persevere and stick fat.

The Artist‘, featuring guest vocals from Counterparts frontman Brendan Murphy is a solid moment, which mixes a hardcore backbeat with Silverstein‘s interchanging melodic tempos. Main single, ‘Sacrifice‘ is decent but a little repetitive. ‘Intervention‘ is quite heavy by the quintet’s standards in the early stages. ‘Live to Kill‘ is another key moment for the release while Bayside‘s Anthony Raneri makes his appearance worthwhile on middle track, ‘Texas Mickey‘.

Rescue‘ won’t disappoint fans, which is always a good thing. However, in the grand scheme of things it doesn’t take as many chances as you would hope. That’s not to say this is a bad album, it is the equal of anything that band has produced in the past. It’s just there’s not much that pushes this sound any further than it’s gone before. It’s solid and rounded. Take it as you will.


Silverstein craft a strong album on full-length number five. It reinforces to fans the band’s commitment and charm but for those unfamiliar or perhaps just uninterested ‘Rescue’ will not demand a change in opinion. A decent outing is all that needs saying really.


1. Medication
2. Sacrifice
3. Forget Your Heart
4. Intervention
5. Good Luck with Your Lives
6. Texas Mickey
7. The Artist
8. Burning Hearts
9. Darling Harbour
10. Live to Kill
11. Replace You
12. In Memory Of…

One Response to “Silverstein – Rescue”

  1. shnurs

    really mediocre, love silverstein but disappointed they didnt push any boundaries in their sound. best track on the album is the one thats only found on the deluxe edition: ‘Dancing On My Grave’.

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.