Kottonmouth Kings – Hidden Stash 420


Hidden Stash 420






For Fans Of

Cypress Hill – Insane Clown Posse – Louie Knuxx


Rap Rock straight out of the OC.


59 / 100

If ‘Hidden Stash 420’ was a carton of milk, it would read: expires 1999. The Rap/Rock crossover is no longer the flavour of the month – Limp Bizkit is not on high rotation anymore (thankfully).

There are no concerning flaws on Californian six piece, Kottonmouth King’s twelfth studio album if you’re a pre-existing fan. Two discs boasting 40 songs is going to keep the loyal well entertained. However, there is something inherently lame and a tad embarrassing about 30 plus year old guys singing about getting high on almost every song – Stoner bitch, We can smoke, Miss smokey, Purple smoke (we get it!). It is fair to say the song titles and lyrical themes get a little redundant.

There are some highlights though worth isolating. ‘Take a Ride’, ‘Tangerine Sky’ and ‘Lookin out the window’ adopt the traditional stylistic approach of old school rap/urban. A repeating backbeat is layered with the vocals of the assorted members. The prevalent strong grooves are enough to maintain a semblance of interest.

Conversely, songs such as ‘Got it get it’ and ‘Late Night Call’ channel a more LA rap persona – dirty beats and your standard ‘gangster’ inspired vocals. Nothing more, nothing less.

‘Hidden Stash 420’s’ biggest downfall is that it all revolves around clichéd musical structures. The lyrics focus on the literal – sex and drugs, and really nothing else (40 songs of the same theme). Furthermore, the album is simply too long. Sometimes less is more, and by offering a small selection, you leave the listener wanting more. We all like Mastodon and Between the Buried and Me but something tells me if they released an album with forty songs on it; that too would start to become a musical overload.


If you like Kottonmouth Kings then ‘Hidden Stash 420’ gives you no reason to jump ship (even though this sound for all intents and purposes appeared to die with cargo pants and razor scooters at the start of the 21st century). However, anyone else is likely to have pressed stop by about track seven.


Disc one:

1. Intro
2. Can Anybody Hear Me
3. Take a Ride
4. Evolution
5. Tangerine Sky
6. D Iz Who I B
7. Got It Get It
8. Stoner Bitch
9. Late Night Call
10. Lookin’ Out My Window
11. Mushroom Cloud
12. This Is For You
13. Pack Me Another Rip
14. Purple Smoke
15. Demons
16. Adventures of This
17. Superstar
18. Sick Adventure
19. Sacrifice
20. Let the Music Play

Disc two:

21. Runnin’ Things
22. Wind Me Up
23. Problem Addict
24. New Vision
25. Rebel Music
26. We Can Smoke
27. Spark It Up
28. Dank in my Brain
29. Grind
30. Miss Smokey
31. Get Up
32. No Future
33. Keep it Movin’
34. Don’t Sleep on the Streets
35. Bumpin’
36. Tip Off
37. Action
38. Funky Rhyme
39. Free Willy
40. High Hopes

5 Responses to “Kottonmouth Kings – Hidden Stash 420”

  1. KYS-Cam

    i remember seeing these guys on MTV when I was 15 and thought it was rad that they were really high. 12 years later I still feel the same way

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.