Disturbed – Indestructible





Reprise/Warner Brothers




For Fans Of

Sevendust – Bury Your Dead – Drowning Pool


From the band that gave you the “Goo” classics…


70 / 100

So, Disturbed hey. I’m
guessing most of you are thinking the same thing I was when I received
this CD… why are Killyourstereo reviewing a Disturbed record? Well, we cover a lot of different music and a lot of people
really like this band so why the fuck not! Anyway, if we’re being
entirely honest, anyone that’s over twenty-two and lives in Melbourne
has probably listened to at least a few Disturbed tunes at four
in the morning at Goo.  

Opening track “Indestructible”
has a pretty solid groove and a riff that is heavily reminiscent of
Atlanta’s Mastodon, while the guitar solo shows that axe-man Dan Donegan has more in his arsenal than his band’s previously
recorded output would lead you to believe. “Inside The Fire” is
a fairly uninspired song that only really grabbed my attention when
another solo (albeit a short one) presented itself, the minor electronic
flourishes being more of an annoyance than actually adding something
to the tune. 

The frustrating thing about Disturbed is their reliance on a mid tempo crawl as “Deceiver”
really benefits from a faster beat, unfortunately the song’s quicker
moments don’t hang around long enough to make a real impact. The riffs
that power “The Night” are pretty catchy however I find David
vocal patterns become quite monotonous after more than
a couple of songs. While clearly being a talented singer he comes across
as being quite limited in what he can do within the confines of Disturbed’s sound.  

Although I could’ve done without
the synth drum intro the classic metal styled guitar more than compensates
for the cheesy electronic elements, while the bouncing “Haunted”
is bound to have every Mid-Western US metal fan smiling from ear to
ear. The chorus of “Enough” is bound to pop up on the next big budget
action blockbuster (hopefully The Rock is in it) and while the punchy
drum sound of “The Curse” is quickly un-done by the over the top
and melodramatic vocals.  

“Torn” is another tune that’s
carried by some credible guitar work however the album’s last few
tracks sound out dated when compared to some of the more adventurous
songs that appear at the start of the record.


For all my criticisms of this record it does have some strong points. The production job is top notch and guitarist Dan Donegan should be applauded for taking charge of the band’s studio sound. Disturbed clearly have legions of fans… the two hundred and fifty thousand Americans who bought this record last week (sending it to number one on the Billboard Charts) prove that, so if you’re into this sound then I’m sure you’re going to love this record.


  1. Indestructible
  2. Inside The Fire
  3. Deceiver
  4. The Night
  5. Perfect Insanity
  6. Haunted
  7. Enough
  8. The Curse
  9. Torn
  10. Criminal
  11. Divide

5 Responses to “Disturbed – Indestructible”

  1. musichyper

    It’s unfair to think this band deserves any street credit whatsoever. This new album is no different and makes a mockery out of hard rock. I’m sorry but I just don’t get why this band is likable beyond it’s silliness and ambiguous immaturity played by older men.

    I Hyped Disturbed on Everhype and gave it 18% which I think is fairly accurate.


    I wouldn’t mind getting some opinions on it . If you get on there, rate me a 5 & request friendship.

  2. aloffeld

    It’s nowhere near as hard as their previous albums. But doesn’t stop them from being kickass live performers, no matter what album theyre singing off.

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.