Paint It Black – New Lexicon


New Lexicon


Jade Tree/Inertia




For Fans Of

Kid Dynamite – Lifetime – None More Black


Yemin strikes gold again…


88 / 100

Taking into account his impressive
back catalogue Dan Yemin could be forgiven if he ever decided
to put away the mic and guitar and just, you know, go back to being
a doctor (seriously, stay in school kids). However after countless years
and a slew of hard hitting and influential records punk rock’s resident
journeyman has given us another fifteen songs of raw, gritty and most
importantly melodic hardcore. 

When the music is this direct
and to the point it would be pointless to throw around a series of over
used terms and clichés to describe it, so I’m just going to give
you the facts. Firstly, the production is exactly what I was hoping
for! You can actually hear the guitars resonate throughout New Lexicon,
as opposed to the clean, almost pop sheen that far too many modern records
rely on. The bass is full in the mix and clearly audible when in sync
with the guitars and finally, the drums actually sound like a real kit,
not a computer program that has made every kick drum punctuation pop
like a fucking basketball. 

The thirty-second blast that
introduces “The Ledge” is pure adrenaline, only stopping for a short
breather in the song’s bass interlude, which acts as the perfect bridge
between the hard, and the melodic. “Four Deadly Venoms” is un-relentless
and although the band is never going to win any points for originality
they have found a way to make an old formula seem fresh and exciting.  

Although “We Will Not”
starts off at a slower pace compared to the previous songs it’s no
less aggressive, Dan’s spite filled vocal delivery giving the tune
more than enough energy, which makes for an interesting contrast when
you compare it to the pop punk chorus of “Past Tense, Future Perfect”.
Apart from its amusing title “Missionary Position” is another straight
down the line ball of energy which benefits from Andy Nelson’s
bass playing which brings us to “White Kids Dying Of Hunger”, New Lexicon’s stand out track. Switching between short, sharp
bursts of speed and slow, eerie passages this song is a perfect example
of what can be achieved when you throw out the punk rock rulebook. 

“Gravity Wins” and “Dead
Precedents” both have a pronounced groove to them while “The Beekeeper”
opts for a more jagged approach to its song structure. I’m not sure
if anyone else hears it but the Dead Kennedy’s influence running
through “Check Yr Mouth’s” opening sixty seconds is fucking great,
as is “So Much For Honour Among Thieves”. The disjointed guitar
playing in “New Folk Song” gives the song a quirky edge, as opposed
to the straight up kick to the balls that “Saccharine” provides. 


Great band, great record, enough


  1. The Ledge
  2. Four Deadly Venoms
  3. We Will Not
  4. Past Tense, Future
  5. Missionary Position
  6. White Kids Dying
    Of Hunger
  7. Gravity Wins
  8. Dead Precede

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.