Fall Out Boy – Infinity on High



Infinity on High


Island/Def Jam Records




For Fans Of

New Found Glory – The Veronicas – Anberlin


Most anticipated album of the year lives up to the hype


91 / 100

Fall Out Boy is a band who polarise opinion. People either love them or loathe them. Whether it’s their “so sweet it’s sickening” melodies or Pete Wentz’s “dick in front of the web came drama” everyone seems to have something to say about FOB… So here’s my piece.

Firs off, an intro from Jay-Z: Anyone who is capable of heading up a major record label and still finding the time to tap Beyonce Knowles is ok with me, so the record’s already off to a blinder.

Using “Thriller” as the opening track was a great move. The opening 30 seconds is some of the most riff-heavy pop punk I’ve heard since New Found Glory dropped their S/T album. I can’t wait to hear this track live – I guarantee the entire general admission section of Vodafone Arena will be pogoing like its 1997!

Second track “The Take Over, The Break’s Over” is our first taste of the new, more stream lined FOB style. While there are still trademark FOB elements the song has a very definite pop edge (not pop-punk, straight up pop) and brings to mind bands such as Maroon 5 and The Veronicas.

Lead single “This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race” demonstrates FOB’s new found sense of groove. The songs on Infinity On High have thick beats which seem to have more drive than previous FOB releases. The influence of acclaimed hip hop producer “Babyface” is evident (and not in a bad way) as the songs definitely have a bass heavy feel to them. Add to that the fact that FOB’s guitar tracks have never sounded so full and you’ve got an album with a near flawless production job!

The remainder of Infinity On High expands on all of FOB’s strengths – the melodies are catchier, the riffs are punchier and the drums resonate through the mix without sounding too triggered or over produced. The introduction of keys and piano parts throughout selected tracks is a nice touch. The songs are strong enough they don’t revolve around the additional instrumentation – they are simply enhanced by it. Far too many acts rely on studio tricks to make their songs sound better and they always fall short on the live front. Fall Out Boy are a band who won’t have that problem!

Infinity On High is the CD that will send Fall Out Boy at the top of the rock n roll heap. While previous album “From Under The Corktree” has sold in excess of 3 million copies in the US alone, IOH is the first rock record to debut at the top of the billboard charts since Aerosmith some 10 years ago.


Fall Out Boy’s ability to appeal to pop fans and hardcore kids alike has ensured
they will be the biggest band of 2007. If you don’t believe me, ask
your little sister… I’m sure she’ll agree.


1. Thriller

2. Take Over, The Breaks Over

3. This Ain’t a Scene, It’s an Arms Race

4. I’m Like a Lawyer with the Way I’m Always Trying to Get You Off (Me + Y

5. Hum Hallelujah

6. Golden

7. Thnks fr th Mmrs

4 Responses to “Fall Out Boy – Infinity on High”

  1. ezmatoyis

    Comparing FOB to The Veronicas? Not cool, man.

    This is a really good record athough I have to say some of the added piano and strings don’t suit some of the songs. Have to mention the bonus track ‘G.I.N.A.S.F.S.’ isn’t half bad either.

  2. FRAZZ

    Poor old Gym Class Heroes. They are on the same record lable, Fueled by Ramen, and thus had to endure Patrick Stump singing gospel on thier album too.

  3. BritBrit

    FOB= Much, much better than Veronicas! It’s a great album, they’re great live and it’s good they’ve finally gained popularity and they deserve it!

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.