Black Sabbath to release deluxe-edition of ‘Born Again’

Sanctuary has set a May 30 release date for the deluxe-edition reissue of Black Sabbath‘s "Born Again" album.

"Born Again" was the only album by Black Sabbath featuring Ian Gillan — who was at the time a solo artist and former singer for Deep Purple — on vocals.

Gillan had first turned down the offer to join Black Sabbath but his manager later convinced him to a meeting with Iommi and the band’s bass guitarist, Geezer Butler. Iommi and Butler met with Gillan at The Bear public house in Oxford and Gillan officially joined the band in February 1983.

Released in October 1983, "Born Again" was a commercial success. It was the highest-charting Black Sabbath album in the United Kingdom since "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" and became an American Top 40 hit. Despite this, it became the first Black Sabbath album to not have any RIAA certification (gold or platinum) in the U.S.

"Born Again" deluxe-edition reissue track listing:

Disc 1:

01. Trashed
02. Stonehenge
03. Disturbing The Priest
04. The Dark
05. Zero The Hero
06. Digital Bitch
07. Born Again
08. Hot Line
09. Keep It Warm

Disc 2:

01. The Fallen
02. Stonehenge
03. Hot Line
04. War Pigs
05. Black Sabbath
06. The Dark
07. Zero The Hero
08. Digital Bitch
09. Iron Man
10. Smoke On The Water
11. Paranoid

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.