caution:thieves announce new record, ‘The Blueprint For Moving Forward’

The next chapter for Melbourne’s caution:thieves kicks off with ‘The Blueprint For Moving Forward.’ [PC: p1xels.]

The third chapter for Melbourne post-hardcore band, caution:thieves, is now underway. Coming July 26th is their new EP, ‘The Blueprint For Moving Forward‘, it’ll see the Australian act pull from the likes of Circa Survive, Alexisonfire, Misery Signals, Saosin, and more to craft their special brand of equally modern and throwback post-hardcore and metalcore.

Now, is it a little silly to claim that a band with only ten other songs to their name has just put out their best track yet? Probably, but that’s the case with ‘Somewhere Bright,’ which dropped alongside the announcement of their new release. Following up previous single ‘Standing Room‘, this is another personalised gem for caution:thieves about finding breathing room during mental claustrophobia; about admitting one’s own flaws and finding clarity through someone else; about discovering a brighter future with others beyond the darker, gloomy clouds of the present.

After a 4/4 stick count-in, ‘Somewhere Bright‘ kicks out the jams as a riffy, instrumentally aggressive hardcore punk tune filled with vocally frenetic yet emotionally vulnerable moments, all teasing a larger chorus to later come. With pulsing, stop-start drum patterns that follow the pacing and energy of the riffs, the track runs along fast and hard, only stopping to widen the breach with it’s catchy vocal refrains that act as respites from the pained screams; a classic dark-light melodic way of song-writing that gets the job done well enough. After a furious little breakdown followed up by a swaying, watery bridge of calmer percussion and cleaner guitars, things fully blossoms when an awesome ten-piece backing-choir enters to bolster the track’s huge vocal hook. All making for a massive outro that trumps all before it. It’s the real high-point of ‘Somewhere Bright‘, like gospel-hardcore, making for an incredible climax: 2:58 onward is just pure bliss!

Find your brighter headspace below:

Full disclosure: caution:thieves frontman, Nicholas Simonsen, has written for KYS in the past. 

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.