We Lost The Sea announce new record, ‘Triumph & Disaster’

We Lost The Sea return this October with first new LP in four years. 

As We Lost The Sea tell it, their new record ‘Triumph & Disaster‘ is a post-apocalyptic view of a world in freefall, presented through the eyes of a mother and son as they spend one final day on our crumbling Earth. It’s an instrumental narrative for destruction, tragedy, loss, and the end. In so many words, it’s We Lost The Sea’s doom’n’gloom love letter about the collapse of our planet via climate crisis, over-consumption, rapid population growth, all told through their big, intricate guitar lines, booming percussion, eruptive dynamic highs, sublime lows, explosive climaxes, and earth-rendering contrasts.

And that’s exactly what the record’s first single and opening song, ‘Towers‘, is. It’s fucking daunting, almost like the beginning of the end, shifting through a global debris with huge percussion, grand piano layers, guitar tremolo, and some mighty riffs. It’s a melodic yet foreboding, towering 15-minute song to kick-off this newest chapter of We Lost The Sea, but a fitting one too. It perfectly evokes a barren world teetering on the brink via the various movements it passes through, showing that the six-piece post-rock act can change things up a little and make it just as interesting and as captivating as previous material, like 2015’s masterful ‘Departure Songs‘ LP.

Triumph & Disaster‘ drops October 4th via Bird’s Robe Records. Save the date, cause this one is going to be epic.

‘Triumph & Disaster’ track-listing:

1. Towers

2. A Beautiful Collapse

3. Dust

4. Parting Ways

5. Distant Shores

6. The Last Sun

7. Mother’s Hymn

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.