Korn kick it old-school with ‘You’ll Never Find Me’

Korn stick close to their nu-metal roots with the first taste of new LP.

Korn’s 13th album, ‘The Nothing,’ will quit fittingly arrive on September 13th via Roadrunner Records, primed to be one of their darkest albums yet lyrically. The first portion off the nu-metal pioneers’ new record was just unveiled the other day, coming in the groovy, riff-driven shape of ‘You’ll Never Find Me.’

The track is an out-pouring of loss, confusion and pain felt by singer Jonathan Davis following his ex wife’s passing last year; Davis repeatedly whispering “I’m not doing fine” in the outro prior to cursing away in a pained, classic Korn freak-out section. It’s about feeling constricted and trapped by loss and trauma, and the manic state that that puts one in; best represented by the cables that dangling the figure in the song’s official visualiser below.

Musically, ‘You’ll Never Find Me‘ starts out like as a pretty typical, groove-focused djent/metalcore track, all with Korn’s trademark nu-metal darkness found throughout. It’s a safe and expected new song, one of the very same approach that defined their solid, return-to-form record, 2016’s ‘The Serenity Of Suffering.’ If anything, it also treks back to the days and sounds of 1998’s ‘Follow The Leader‘ LP, just without anywhere near the same level of energy, songwriting effort or staying power. Hopefully ‘The Nothing‘ has more exciting, interesting cuts to offer come September.

Find Korn’s latest below:

‘The Nothing’ Track-listing:

1. The End Begins
2. Cold
3. You’ll Never Find Me
4. The Darkness Is Revealing
5. Idiosyncrasy
6. The Seduction of Indulgence
7. Finally Free
8. Can You Hear Me
9. The Ringmaster
10. Gravity of Discomfort
11. H@rd3r
12. This Loss
13. Surrender to Failure

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.