Slipknot; a new song, a new album, & new masks

Slipknot will drop ‘We Are Not Your Kind’ on August 9th. 

A new Slipknot record is upon us in 2019. Entitled ‘We Are Not Your Kind‘ – pulled from the foreshadowing lyrics of 2018 single, ‘All Out Life‘ (which won’t feature on this upcoming LP) – Slipknot’s new album arrives August 9th via Roadrunner Records, with new single ‘Unsainted‘ dropping overnight. A self-aware song about personal agency and victory, and perhaps even about the band being held up on a pedestal and denoting their own sanctity, its got that classic Slipknot iconoclasm to the words it offers as scripture: “You’ve Killed The Saint In Me/How Dare You Martyr Me“.

Other than its surprising metalcore-esque breakdown, its heavier verses, drop B riffage, and blast-beat section all pull it in line with 2001’s monstrous ‘Iowa‘, whereas the general songwriting feel and production come from 2014’s ‘.5: The Gray Chapter‘ more than anything. All with a hefty, unexpected choir-backed chorus and Corey Taylor sounding great. If anything, it’s a decent if mostly stock-standard Slipknot track; mixing melody and darkness. However, I’ll probably only listen to ‘Unsainted‘ again when the album drops in August, not before or afterwards. But that’s just my take. What’s your vibe?

Of course, a new Slipknot album also means new masks too. And depending on the band member, there’s either been some big changes or almost zero additions. Guitarists Mick Thomson and Jim Root, as well as sampler Craig Jones, have barely had any alterations done, other than some subtle stylisation. Bassist Alessandro Venturella, percussionist/backing vocalist/music video director M. Shawn Crahan, and drummer Jay Weinberg have all had noticeable updates, with Alessandro’s becoming more detailed and the latter’s giving off Paul Gray vibes (may he rest in peace). As for The Big Mouth himself, Corey now dons this weird, translucent mask. However, the eeriest-looking mask is easily that of Sid Wilson, who looks like he’s got this dead-skin prosthetic of his own face; creating this creepy uncanny valley aesthetic that looks pretty dang sick, honestly. The work of Tom Savini (many a George A. Romero movie) and Jason Baker definitely shines the most with Sid’s mask.

Interestingly, there’s nine members shown in the video for ‘Unsainted‘. While this video was potentially filmed last year or perhaps even earlier this year, given that percussionist Chris Fehn is currently suing the band over unpaid royalties – with it being revealed he was basically a “hired gun” left out of business matters, with the band fully disputing his claims – the inclusion of his mask (minus the phallic nose) is odd. Maybe it’s him or maybe there’s a new member with little identity underneath that mask? Much like Jay’s and Alessandro’s introductions, I’m sure the internet will figure it out soon enough.

Anyway, check out the sights and sounds of ‘Unsainted‘:

‘We Are Not Your Kind’ Track-listing:

1. Insert Coin
2. Unsainted
3. Birth Of The Cruel
4. Death Because Of Death
5. Nero Forte
6. Critical Darling
7. Liar’s Funeral
8. Red Flag
9. What’s Next
10. Spiders
11. Orphan
12. My Pain
13. Not Long For This World
14. Solway Firth

3 Responses to “Slipknot; a new song, a new album, & new masks”

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.