Jesus Piece Release Tough-As-Nails New Track, ‘Curse Of The Serpent’

Philadelphia will be laid to waste. 

In Genesis 3:14, it reads that: “The Lord God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this, Cursed are you more than all cattle, And more than every beast of the field; On your belly you will go, And dust you will eat All the days of your life.

In the newest single from Pennsylvania’s Jesus Piece – ‘Curse Of The Serpent‘ – vocalist Aaron Heard roars away about the weight of burdens, pain eternal, and incarnations of evil. Whether you buy into the New and Old Testament or not, and while Heard’s distorted and heavy vocals aren’t always fully comprehensible to the ear, this is a killer song about your sin or the sin of others; inner-pain that just won’t quit you; and, for lack of a better and less dramatic term, total damnation.

Off the back of this short yet pummelling and dissonant track, Philly hardcore masters Jesus Piece gear up for the release of their highly-anticipated new LP, ‘Only Self‘. Releasing via Southern Lord Records, ‘Only Self‘ is now poised to strike hard and deep come August 24th, 2018, with this recently released first morsel from the upcoming feast being one hell of a violent cut!

Pulling the curtain back a tad for listeners about their intent of this song, the band themselves commented that: “‘Curse of the Serpent’ is an ode to the grudges that everyone holds. It’s a song about long-lasting pain sitting in the back of your mind. The kind that just doesn’t know how to fuck off. We chose this song first because it’s a great introduction to the energy of this record but doesn’t define the overall sound. This is a great bridge of growth between old and new.”

But before said bridge arrives, be sure to grind your fists, pump those guns and wallow in your own pain with ‘Curse Of The Serpent‘; a song hopefully indicative of the sheer sonic destruction lying in wait on Jesus Piece’s new album. I fuck with it, do you?

‘Only Self’ tracklisting:
1. Lucid
2. Workhorse
3. Punish
4. Curse of the Serpent
5. In the Silence
6. Adamant
7. Neuroprison
8. Dog No Longer
9. I
10. II
11. Oppressor

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.