Fuck Yeah: Pagan Announce Debut LP, ‘Black Wash’

Big news from the Pagan camp today, all with a music video for ‘Death Before Disco’ as well. 

Here’s something I’ve wanted to write for a long while now: Melbourne’s finest blackened rock’n’roll act, Pagan, have just announced their debut record. Hallelujah! The band’s first ever full-length, ‘Black Wash‘, will finally arrive on July 6th via local Australian heavy label, EVP Recordings (and via Hassle Records in the U.K.) and I’m downright giddy for this release!

This new 11-track record will feature, alongside the band’s recent banger of ‘Death Before Disco‘, two of the grim group’s previous singles: the riffy and groovy ‘Wine and Lace‘ as well as the bleak and vicious ‘Imitate Me‘. (Though there’s no inclusion of ‘Good Grief‘ and ‘Luigi Cherubini‘, mind you).

Based on the quartet’s previously solid output, and from how crazy and fun their live shows are, this new record should hopefully be the powerful debut LP statement that Pagan need to make in 2018. Even with a hint of nervousness, something tells me that they’ve brewed up a delightfully devilish record for us all to drown in.

Still, July 6th just seems so damn far off now, doesn’t it? Well, in the meantime, you can watch Pagan rock out at last month’s “Holy Communion” headline Melbourne show in the music video for ‘Death Before Disco‘:

‘Black Wash’ album tracklisting:

1. Il Malocchio Si Apre (‘The Evil Eye Opens’)

2. Death Before Disco

3. Silver 4.

Imitate Me

5. Holy Water

6. Blood Moon

7. Year of the Dog

8. The Greatest Love Songs

9. Wine and Lace

10. Fluorescent Snakes

11. Il Malocchio Si Chiude (‘The Evil Eye Closes’).

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.