Resist The Thought Are Back, Release New Song ‘Set Me Free’

Resist The Thought sweaters, rejoice.

After a “back from the dead” show in January 2017, a support slot under Polaris at Sydney’s Blacktown Masonic Hall last October, and a few teasing video uploads of the band recording new material Resist The Thought have now marked their full return with ‘Set Me Free‘.  And it ain’t half bad. (Oh man, I just realised that the last release from these Sydney heavy-hitters was their nine-track LP ‘Sovereignty‘ back in 2012. Christ, that makes even me feel old).

Although, ‘Set Me Free‘ is basically just more Resist The Thought for the old-guard punters, all with some added flair for melodic guitars and clean vocals now included. Of course, the band’s frontman Rhys Giles is still utterly hectic behind the mic and he hasn’t lost any of the impact or range to his screams. Not at all! The rest of the band is just as tight as they ever were, from Zak Borg’s drums, bassist Matt Mcguiggan, and guitarists Macleane Coward and Darcy Reynolds.

So, where do y’all stand on this new Resist The Thought tune – are you glad they’re back? Do you think the band should’ve stayed dead? Or do you just not give a fuck at all?

PC: Josh Concepcion.

Leave a Reply

You must be registered and logged in to comment on this post.